top of page

Land Acknowledgement

El Paso Roller Derby would like to acknowledge that the land we gather, practice, and play on are the traditional lands of the Suma, Mescalero Apache, Tampachoa (Manso), Ndé Kónitsąąíí Gokíyaa (Lipan Apache), Piro and Tigua (Tiwa) Peoples and pay our deepest respects to the elders both past and present. By offering this Land Acknowledgement, we honor the original stewards of this land and affirm and support Indigenous sovereignty. El Paso Roller Derby is committed to educating ourselves on the true history of violence and colonization forced upon these Peoples throughout the generations. We stand against the oppression they still face, particularly the violence toward Indigenous women, transgender, and Two-Spirit persons.


Sumas territory

Mescalero Apache

Mescalero Apache territory

Tampachoa (Mansos)

Tampachoa (Mansos) territory

Ndé Kónitsąąíí Gokíyaa
(Lipan Apache)

lipan territory

Tigua (Tiwa)

Tigua (Tiwa) territory


Piro territory

 The Suma are often included in the term Jumanos. Their name has been written as Buma, Suna, Zuma, Zumana, and Sume. They are also called the Shuman and Zuma.

 The Suma were an Indigenous people of Aridoamerica. They had two branches, one living in the northern part of the Mexican state of Chihuahua and the other living near present-day El Paso, Texas


The Mescalero people were nomadic hunters and gathers and roamed the Southwest. They were experts in guerrilla warfare and highly skilled horsemen. The women were known for their ability to find and prepare food from many different plant sources. The people were given the name "Mescalero" because they gathered and ate the mescal plant. It was the staple of their diets and could sustain them in good times and bad.


The Manso people were an indigenous people who lived along the Rio Grande, from the 16th to the 17th century. Present-day Las Cruces, New Mexico developed in this area. The Manso were one of the indigenous groups to be resettled at the Guadalupe Mission in what is now Ciudad Juarez, Mexico. Some of their descendants remain in the area to this day.



These groups which separated became the Navajo Nation, Lipan Apache, Chiricahua Apache, Mescalero Apache, Jicarilla Apache, the Plains Apache, and other Apache tribes. The Lipan Apache Tribe claimed the land farthest east of all the Apache tribes. By the 1600s, the Lipan Apache lived on the grassy plains of North Texas. At that time, the tribe split into two large groups (bands)—the Forest Lipan and the Plains Lipan. The Forest Lipan settled in northeastern Texas from the Red River to the upper Brazos River. The Plains Lipan chose land along the upper Colorado and Concho Rivers.


The Tiwa Indians, also known as Tigua, are a group of Tanoan Pueblo tribes which live in three geographic regions, including Taos and Picuris in northeast New Mexico, Sandia and Isleta near Albuquerque, New Mexico, and at Ysleta del Sur, near El Paso, Texas. Traditionally, they spoke one of three Tiwa languages, though, over the years, they began to switch to Spanish or English.


The Piro were once one of the principal Pueblo tribes of New Mexico, which, in the early part of the 17th century, comprised two divisions, one inhabiting the Rio Grande Valley in Socorro County, New Mexico, northward to within about 50 miles of Albuquerque, where the Tigua settlements began. The other division, sometimes called Tompiro and Salinero, occupied an area east of the Rio Grande in the vicinity of the salt lagoons, or salinas, where they adjoined the eastern group of Tigua settlements on the south.


*If you find that any of the above information is incorrect, please feel free to contact us as we continue to educate ourselves on the people who were here before us.*

bottom of page